Sindh parliamentarians beat Punjab counterparts in festival cricket

Sindh parliamentarians beat Punjab counterparts in festival cricket

KARACHI: The parliamentarians of Sindh defeated their counterparts from the Punjab by 58 runs in afestival T-20 cricket match played at the Moin Khan Stadium here on Sunday night.

Winning the toss and batting first, the lawmakers from Sindhled by Chief Minister, Syed Murad Ali Shah, scored 193 runs at the loss of four wickets in 20 overs.            Sindh Sports Minister, Sardar Muhammad Bux Mahar, scored104 runs on 66 balls with the help of three sixes and 12 boundaries.

Murad Ali Shah also batted well and scored 40 runs that included a six and three fours.

Punjab's Deputy Speaker Sher Ali Gorchani took two wickets for 34 runs.

In reply, the Punjab parliamentarians in their innings managed 135 runs at the loss of nine wickets.

Vice-captain Adnan Farid was highest scorer with 44 runs while provincial minister, Tanvir Aslam made 22 runs.

Sardar Muhammad Bux claimed three wickets in four overs at the cost of 11 runs. Dr. Sohrab Sarki got two wickets.

Speaking on the occasion Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad AliShah said that sports are the means of winning hearts and canalso foster harmony and brotherhood.            On behalf of the government of Sindh and provincialcabinet, he welcomed the parliamentarians from the Punjab.

Skipper of Punjab parliamentarians, Mian Munir and Sher AliGorchani thanked the sports lovers of Karachi for according avery warm welcome to the team of the Punjab parliamentarians.

Syed Murad Ali Shah presented souvenirs and Sindh'straditional gift and Ajrak and cap to members of both the teams.

On all-round performance Sardar Muhammad Bux Mahar was givenman of the match award..

The match was also witnessed among others by the Leader ofthe opposition in National Assembly, Syed Khurshid Shah, Sindh Assembly Speaker, Agha SirajDurrani, Sindh Information Minister, Nasir Hussain Shah, RashidRabbani, Commissioner Karachi, Ejaz Ahmed Khan, Shakir Khanzada,S.S.B. Razzaq, focal person, Asif Azeem and Ghulam Muhammad Khan.