PM Imran Khan chairs first meeting of the Federal Cabinet at PM Office

PM Imran Khan chairs first meeting of the Federal Cabinet at PM Office

*ISLAMABAD - Prime Minister Imran Khan chaired the first meeting of the newly-formed federal cabinet in Islamabad on Monday.*

*Earlier the cabinet members took the oath in a ceremony at the President House.*

The cabinet meeting is chaired by Prime Minister Imran Khan, where upcoming strategies and course of action of the new government were discussed.

Earlier, new Information Minister and PTI spokesperson Fawad Chaudhry, said that the session will focus on implementation of the policy measures announced by PM Imran in his address to the nation last night.

The 20-member cabinet of Prime Minister Imran Khan was sworn in at President House on Monday. President Mamnoon Hussain administered oath to the federal cabinet.

The federal cabinet comprises 20 members of which 15 are ministers while five others will discharge their duties as advisers to the premier.

PTI vice president Shah Mahmood Qureshi, who had served as foreign minister in the PPP government from 2008 to 2011, has been entrusted with the same portfolio once again.

Former chief minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province Pervaiz Khattak has been given the charge of defence in the Imran Khan-led government at the Centre. Whereas, Asad Umer has been given the most challenging portfolio of finance.

Awami Muslim League (AML) chief Sheikh Rashid has been given the portfolio of the railway minister. He previously held the same portfolio under the Musharraf regime.

The Ministry of Human Rights went to Shireen Mazari while Fawad Chaudhry has been entrusted with the information ministry.