Zaman Khan breaks silence ahead of ODI debut

Zaman Khan breaks silence ahead of ODI debut

Pakistani right-arm fast bowler Zaman Khan expressed his excitement about making his debut in today's one-day international (ODI) Asia Cup 2023 match against Sri Lanka. Zaman was added to the Asia Cup squad to replace Naseem Shah, who sustained a right shoulder injury during a match against India. Additionally, star pacer Haris Rauf also suffered an injury in the same match and didn't bowl during the reserve day when play resumed.

In response to these injuries, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) included Shahnawaz Dahani and Zaman Khan as backups as a precautionary measure. Zaman, aged 22, arrived from Pakistan and had already gained recognition in national cricket for his outstanding performance in this year's Pakistan Super League (PSL) while playing for the Lahore Qalandars.

Expressing his thoughts on being selected for the team, Zaman mentioned that he felt incredibly honored and had never expected to participate in such a significant event like the Asia Cup.

"I never thought that I would be included in the squad. It is an honour for me to play for Pakistan in Asia Cup," he said.

The right-hand pacer said that he has made a debut in T20 cricket, adding that he is very happy to meet the other players after a long time.

"Haris Rauf and Shaheen Shah Afridi have played a lot of matches and I asked them how to bowl on the pitches in Sri Lanka," said the fast bowler.

He pointed out that although he had previously made his debut in T20 cricket, he was thrilled to reunite with fellow players after a prolonged period. Zaman sought advice from experienced players like Haris Rauf and Shaheen Shah Afridi on how to bowl effectively on Sri Lankan pitches and inquired about the playing conditions in Sri Lanka, hoping for a strong performance from the Pakistan team. Pakistan is set to face Sri Lanka in the final Super 4 clash today in Colombo.

The winning team today will secure a spot in the final against India, scheduled for Sunday at the same venue. Pakistan made five changes to their lineup from the previous match against India, with Mohammad Haris, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim, and Zaman Khan being included.