ICC Women’s World Cup Schedule announced

ICC Women’s World Cup Schedule announced

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday announced the full match schedule for this summer’s ICC Women’s World Cup in England and Wales.

The tournament will get underway on June 24 as 28 matches will be held over 21 days, including four weekends, meaning more opportunities for fans to attend. A round-robin between the world’s eight best teams will conclude with the semi-finals at Bristol and Derby before the final at Lord’s on July 23.

Tickets for group stage matches start at £10 for adults, £5 for students (aged between 17 and 23-years-old) and £2 for under-16s.

David Richardson, the ICC Chief Executive, said: “I can’t think of a better moment than International Women’s Day to unveil the schedule of one of the leading global events in women’s sport.

“We are anticipating an exciting tournament and I know the players are looking forward to competing here in front of unprecedented levels of support. We’ve already sold 9000 tickets for the final at Lord’s which bodes well for the rest of the event going on sale today. I know we can always count on the British sport loving public to support big events.

“After the extremely successful qualifying tournament in Sri Lanka last month, we can already see that there will be some fiercely contested fixtures as the standard and competitiveness of women’s cricket continues to rise.”

Host England face India on the opening day – a team it defeated in the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 – in a highly anticipated fixture in Derby while powerhouse New Zealand face qualifier Sri Lanka in Bristol on the same day – June 24.

India will feature in four games in Derby, including the much anticipated clash with its arch rival Pakistan on Sunday, July 2. India will also take on the West Indies in Taunton, Australia in Bristol and South Africa in Leicester.

England will take on the six-time and reigning champion Australia in Bristol on July 9 and the highly fancied New Zealand in Derby on July 12. The big-hitting West Indies team, runner-up in the 2013 ICC Women’s World Cup, will play three matches in Taunton including the repeat of the Mumbai final against Australia in the opening match at the County Ground on June 26.

Leicester will be the home venue for Pakistan with five of its seven matches being staged at Grace Road including matches against England on June 27 and Australia on July 5.

The two semi-finals will be in Derby and Bristol on 18 and 20, culminating with a Lord’s final on July 23, for which tickets are already selling quickly.

Reigning champions Australia begin its ICC Women’s World Cup title defence against West Indies at Taunton on June26.