Imran Khan’s victory in NA-131 still stands

Imran Khan’s victory in NA-131 still stands

ISLAMABAD: After Saturday’s recount, PTI Chairperson Imran Khan has been declared the winning candidate from NA-131 Lahore once again after 2,835 rejected votes were counted.

Imran won by 602 votes. His victory had been challenged by runner-up Khawaja Saad Rafique of the PML-N.

In the previous results, Imran won the seat by securing 84,313 to Rafique’s 83,633 votes.

Recounts are under way across the country after losing candidates petitioned the ECP to check the ballot papers once again.

These constituencies include NA-13 Mansehra, NA-126, NA-129, NA-108 Faisalabad, NA-154, NA-157 Multan, PP-162 Lahore and NA-237 Karachi Malir-III.

In the recounting for PP-270 Muzaffargarh, independent candidate Abdul Hayee Dasti was declared the winner by margin of 17 votes.

After the recount, Dasti got 17,717 votes while his opponent Ajmal Chandia of the Awam Raj Party got 17,700 votes.