MCC announced 15 member squad for fixture against Pakistan

MCC announced 15 member squad for fixture against Pakistan

ISLAMABAD - The MCC have confirmed the 15-man squad which will embark on a short tour of Pakistan in March.

President Kumar Sangakkara will captain the group, which will play three T20 matches next month.

Among the stand-out names named are England World Cup winner Liam Dawson and former internationals Ravi Bopara and Samit Patel.

The squad, which blends experienced and youthful players also includes Warwickshire pair Michael Burgess and Wil Rhodes, Worcestershire's Ross Whiteley and Roelof van der Merwe of Somerset.

Dawson, Patel and Phil Salt will only be available for one match of the tour due to their involvement in the Pakistan Super League which runs between February 2 and March 22.

PSL sides Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans and domestic T20 champions Northern represent the opponents for MCC in three stand-alone matches during the tour.

The batch of fixtures have been arranged in an effort to build on the return of cricket to *Pakistan* link after Tests were played there for the first time in a decade during the back-end of 2019.

Assistant Secretary John Stephenson said: "We are thrilled to be able to name a strong squad for this tour, which blends youth and experience for a strong side of high quality.

"We have really appreciated the collaborative approach from the Pakistan Cricket Board and the Pakistan Super League, which has enabled us to arrange fixtures against sides preparing for this year’s PSL tournament as well as to secure the services of some of those participating.

"As a club, we share the PCB’s wish in wanting to see international teams returning to play in Pakistan on a regular basis and we hope that this tour contributes to those objectives."

*MCC squad:* Kumar Sangakkara, Ravi Bopara (Sussex), Michael Burgess (Warwickshire), Oliver Hannon-Dalby (Warwickshire), Fred Klaassen (Kent), Michael Leask (Scotland), Arron Lilley (Leicestershire), Imran Qayyum (Kent), Will Rhodes (Warwickshire), Safyaan Sharif (Scotland), Roelof van der Merwe (Somerset), Ross Whiteley (Worcestershire), Liam Dawson (Hampshire) Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Phil Salt (Sussex)