Mirza Saleem Baig appointed as Chairman PEMRA

Mirza Saleem Baig appointed as Chairman PEMRA

ISLAMABAD – The government has appointed Mirza Saleem Baig as the chairman of the Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority.

A notification in this regard has been issued. Saleem Baig, a BS-20 officer, is currently working as Principal Information Officer.

Earlier, the committee headed by Sartaj Aziz had sent a summary to Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi for appointment of the new PEMRA chairman.

However, Awais Saleem and Mir Kamran Ali are also on the list.

The five-member committee was formed on the order of the Supreme Court.Hameed Haroon, Mian Amir, Arif Nizami and Information secretary were members of the committee.

As many as 170 candidates had applied for the post. The committee shortlisted 61 candidates and interviewed them.