Pakistan cricket team breaks worst record of 48 years ODI history

Pakistan cricket team breaks worst record of 48 years ODI history

In the 26th match of the World Cup, Pakistan came close to victory but ultimately lost to South Africa in the most thrilling match of the World Cup. This is the first time in the 48-year history of the World Cup that Pakistan has lost four consecutive matches.

In the match played at Chidambaram Stadium, opener Abdullah Shafique lost his wicket quickly after scoring 17 runs, while Imam-ul-Haq managed to score 12 runs.

The third player to be dismissed was Mohammad Rizwan, who scored 31 runs before getting out to the Quetta's bowler. Meanwhile, Fakhar Zaman was caught at the boundary while trying to hit a six in an attempt to hit Tabriz Shamsi. He scored 21 runs. Babar Azam was dismissed after scoring 50 runs, caught behind off the bowling of Tabriz Shamsi.

In the partnership for the sixth wicket, Shadab Khan and Saud Shakeel established an 84-run partnership, with Shadab Khan scoring 43 runs and Saud Shakeel making the highest individual score of 52 runs.

Pakistan's entire team was bowled out for 270 runs in the 47th over against South Africa. On the South African side, Tabriz Shamsi took 4 wickets, Marco Jansen took 3, Gerald Coetzee took 2, and Lungi Ngidi took 1 wicket. Prior to this, the national team's captain Babar Azam won the toss and decided to bat first. He said that the effort will be to set a big target against Proteas and make a mark in the tournament with a new determination.

He said that two changes have been made in the team, with Mohammad Waseem Junior replacing Hasan Ali and Mohammad Nawaz playing eleven instead of Asif Ali. On this occasion, South African team captain Temba Bavuma said that Pakistan is a strong opponent, and they want to brighten their hopes of playing in the semi-final by succeeding in the match in the mega event.

Pakistan's squad includes Captain Babar Azam, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan, Saud Shakeel, Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Waseem Junior, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Haris Rauf, while South Africa's squad consists of Captain Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock, Rassie van der Dussen, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Gerald Coetzee, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, and Lungi Ngidi.