Prize money for 2023 Cricket World Cup revealed

Prize money for 2023 Cricket World Cup revealed

A total prize pool of USD 10 million has been announced for the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 in India. According to the ICC's announcement on September 22, the winners of the Men's Cricket World Cup 2023 will claim USD 4 million from this prize pool, while the runners-up in the final, which is scheduled for November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, will be awarded USD 2 million.

In the Group Stage, all 10 participating teams will play against each other once in a round-robin format. The top four teams in the points table will advance to the semi-finals. Additionally, there is prize money for victories during the Group Stage, with teams earning USD 40,000 for each win.

Teams that do not progress to the knockout stage will receive USD 100,000 each. This distribution of prize money also serves as a precedent for the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup in 2025, where the ICC announced equal prize sums for both men's and women's events during the Annual Conference held in Durban, South Africa, in July 2023.

Here's a breakdown of how the prize money is allocated: -

Winner: USD 4,000,000 -

Runner-up: USD 2,000,000 -

Losing Semi-Finalists (2 teams): USD 800,000 each (total USD 1,600,000) -

Teams eliminated after the group stage (6 teams): USD 100,000 each (total USD 600,000) -

Winner of each group stage match (45 matches): USD 40,000 each (total USD 1,800,000) -

Total Prize Pool: USD 10,000,000

The 13th edition of this prestigious cricket event will feature 10 competing teams, with India qualifying as the host nation. New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa earned their spots through the Super League, while Sri Lanka and the Netherlands secured their positions in the World Cup through the Qualifier.

The tournament, consisting of 48 matches across 10 venues, will kick off on October 5 with a rematch of the previous edition's final between defending champions England and New Zealand. Before the World Cup officially begins, each team will participate in two warm-up matches to prepare for the 46-day-long tournament.