ECP bars 35 political parties from contesting elections

ECP bars 35 political parties from contesting elections

ISLAMABAD: (APP) The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has immediately barred 35 political parties from contesting elections on their symbols owing to their failure to submit their annual accounts or conducting intra party elections as per law.

READ MORE:  Punjab reserved seats LG elections: ECP decision

According to a notification of ECP, the 35 parties have failed to submit their annual accounts statements or presenting certificate of conducting intra party elections despite repeated reminders and directives.

ECP had issued a notice on September 1, 2016 followed by reminder on September 8 through media, sensitizing all those political parties, who neither submitted their annual Statement of Party Accounts, nor conducted intra-party elections. The list of defying political parties was also displayed on the website of ECP.

READ MORE:  Electoral list verification second phase by ECP

The list of defying 35 political parties is included herewith, who have failed to submit account statement and failed to conduct intra party elections including All Pakistan Muslim League; All Pakistan Sunni Tehreek; Awami National Party; Awami National Party (Wali); Balochistan National Movement ; Balochistan National Party; Balochistan National Party (Awami); Hazara Awami ittehad Pakistan; Hazara Democratic Party; Jamiat Ulama-e-Islam (F); Jamiat Ulama-e-Islam (S); Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan; Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan(Niazi); Jumiat Ulma-e-Islam(Nazryati); Majlis-e-Wahdat-e-Muslimeen Pakistan; Markazi Jamiat Al- Hadith  (Sajid Mir); Mohajir Qaumi Movement Pakistan; Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan; Pakistan Awami Tehreek; Pakistan Mazdoor Kissan Party; Pakistan Muslim League; Pakistan Muslim League (F); Pakistan Muslim League (Hussaini) Pakistan; Pakistan Muslim League (N); Pakistan Muslim League(Z); Pakistan Peoples Party (Shaheed Bhutto); Pakistan Sunni Tehreek; Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Nazriati; Pashtoonkhwa Milli Awami Party; Sindh National Front ; Sindh Taraqi Passand Party (STP); Sindh United Party; Sindh Urban-Rural Alliance; Sunni Tehreek and Tehreek-e-Suba Hazara.