PML-N Sheikh Ansar clinches Islamabad Mayor slot

PML-N Sheikh Ansar clinches Islamabad Mayor slot
ISLAMABAD: Ruling party PML-N succeed to clinch the slots of Mayor and 3 Deputy Mayors of Islamabad. PML-N candidate Shiekh Ansar was elected as first-ever Mayor of Islamabad by securing 49 votes while PTI candidate Khurram Nawaz secured only 26 votes.


As per details, the process of polling started at Convention Centre from 9 Am to 5 p.m without break. 75 elected members out of 77 casted their votes through secret balloting while a UC Chairman Jamil Khokhar could not cast his vote due to absence of ID Card,  similarly PTI member Ateeq Khattk was out of country.


Ch. Rifat, Zeeshan Shah and Azam Khan succeeded to win the slot of Deputy Mayors. Local body members casted their votes in form of a panel. PTI candidates for the slot of Deputy Mayors Ali Awan, Fozia Arshad and Raja Zulqarnain secured 26 votes.


When District Returning Officer announced the result of Shiekh Ansar winning the Mayor slot,  PML-N workers distributed sweets and expressed their happiness.




Latest News