Will the cases against PM Kakar be reopened by NAB after SC decision?

Will the cases against PM Kakar be reopened by NAB after SC decision?

Corruption cases, investigations, and inquiries involving more than 700 billion rupees have been reopened. The Supreme Court of Pakistan has declared NAB references as non-existent, bringing nearly 450 former parliamentarians, serving and retired officers, and some private business individuals back onto NAB's radar.

According to investigations, these former parliamentarians and serving or retired officers were under approximately 1,809 references, investigations, inquiries, and complaints since 2019. However, after NAB truce, all these cases were closed or withdrawn by NAB. These references, investigations, and inquiries resulted in an estimated loss of around 700 billion rupees to the national exchequer. Approximately 460 references, 270 investigations, 456 inquiries, and 623 complaints will be reinvestigated.

Among those benefiting from this development are Pakistan's former seven prime ministers, and even cases of fourteen former chief ministers will be reopened. Retired Lieutenant Generals Javed Ashraf Qazi, Saeed Zaman, Major General Hameed Hasan Butt, and retired Brigadier Akhtar Ali's Railway Golf Club case will also be reopened. According to our investigative team, there are currently 486 references underway at NAB. NAB records show that 670 complaints are in the initial phase of scrutiny.

According to reports, 880 inquiries are ongoing, and investigations are underway in 276 cases. In NAB's history, 3,809 references have been filed so far, and NAB has received over 500,000 complaints to date. In the National Accountability Bureau, investigations into 4,800 cases have been conducted. NAB has collected over 570 billion rupees from the government from 1999 to 2023.

NAB Concerned Prime Minister Anwar-ul-Haq Kakar's case will also be reopened in the light of today's Supreme Court decision. Quetta NAB had recommended suspending the inquiry against Anwar-ul-Haq Kakar in the light of NAB truce.

In the light of these developments, Pakistan's former seven prime ministers, including Shahbaz Sharif, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, Hammad Naseer Chatha, Yusuf Raza Gilani, Raja Pervez Ashraf, and Shaukat Aziz, have been cleared of charges. Former President Asif Zardari, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, Maryam Nawaz Sharif, Salman Shehbaz, and Nasrat Shehbaz's cases have also been closed.

Cases against former Chief Ministers Pervez Elahi, Usman Buzdar, Hamza Shehbaz, Shahbaz Sharif, Aslam Raisani, Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo, Pervez Khattak, Mahmood Khan, Qaim Ali Shah, Murad Ali Shah, Manzoor Watoo, Haider Azam Hoti, Malik Baloch, and Sanaullah Zehri are reopening.

Forty former ministers, including Khawaja Asif, Atif Khan, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Sabtain Khan, Aleem Khan, Shahram Tarakai, Khurram Bukhari, Hashim Jawan Bakht, Nasrat Aman, Haneef Jalandhari, and others will also face reopened cases. In light of the Supreme Court's decision, there is a possibility that 89 former members of PPP, 62 from PML-N, 47 from PTI, 8 from MQM, 12 from Q-League and JUI-F, and one from the Awami National Party will have cases reopened against them. One case against the Pakistan Muslim League (Zia) is also reopening.

Related news