Sadiq Sanjrani, Saleem Mandviwala elected Chairman, Dy Chairman Senate

Sadiq Sanjrani, Saleem Mandviwala elected Chairman, Dy Chairman Senate

ISLAMABAD:An Independent Senator Sadiq Sanjrani on Monday was declared successful against the post of the Chairman Senate by securing 57 out of 103 cast votes.

The Presiding Officer Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob made the announcement following which supporters of winning candidate thumped the desk.

The Pakistan Muslim League-N supported candidate Raja Muhammad Zafar ul Haq secured 46 votes and became Deputy Chairman of the Senate. No vote was rejected.

The Pakistan Peoples Party and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf supported Sadiq Sanjrani.

Presiding Officer Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Nasir administrated the oath to the new elected Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani on Monday.

PPP’s Saleem Mandviwala got 54 votes, while Muhammad Usman Khan Kakar of PKMAP secured 44 votes. In all, 98 votes were cast with no ballot rejected

Newly elected Chairman of Senate Saleem Mandviwala took oath administered by Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani.

Fifty-two of fifty-three newly elected Senators took oath today.

Senator Sardar Yaqoob Khan Nasir, who was nominated by the President to chair the session administered oath to the new members.

They included a member elected from Punjab against the seat vacated due to disqualification of Nehal Hashmi.

Ishaq Dar, who is under treatment abroad, could not attend the session.

After oath-taking the new members signed the roll of the house. 

Meanwhile, newly elected Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani has said that all independent members of the Senate will have to join the opposition or treasury benches within seven days.

He was thanking members for electing him and seeking their cooperation in matters relating to legislation and other business of the house. 

The Chairman said that no independent member, without joining opposition benches will be allowed to cast his vote for the election of opposition leader. He asked the members to submit names of the candidates for the opposition leader with the Chairman office.

Congratulating the newly elected Chairman of the Senate, Raja Zafarul Haq expressed the hope that the new Chairman will continue the path of his predecessor in upholding democratic norms and the constitution.

Raza Rabbani, Sirajul Haq, Maulana Atta-ur-Rahman, Muhammad Usman Khan Kakar, Aurangzeb Khan, Azam Swati, Mir Hasil Bazinjo, and Sitara Ayaz also spoke on the occasion.

The House has now been prorogued. APP/AFP