Drought warning issued for 30 districts of Pakistan

Drought warning issued for 30 districts of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD - The Pakistan Meteorological Department’s (PMD) has released drought warning.

According to a notification link by the Met Office, below normal rainfall has been recorded over most of the southern parts of the country while major rainfall deficit was experienced in the province of Sindh (-71.9 per cent), Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (-46.9 per cent) and Balochistan (-44.2 per cent) during the months of June to November.

19 districts of Sindh and 11 districts of Balochistan are facing moderate to severe drought, the notification further said.

Karachi, Hyderabad, Badin, Larkana, Sanghar, Dadu, Mityari, Shaheed Benzairabad, Mohenjodaro, Tharparkar, Jacobabad, Padidan, Thatta, Jamshoro, Qambar Shadadkot, Umerkot, Rohri, Khairpur and Sajwal are facing drought in Sindh.

In Balochistan, Quetta, Mastung, Gwadar, Awaran, Kech, Panjgur, Bolan, Kharan, Chagi, Noushki and Washuk are among the district's facing drought.