Pak Vs West Indies 2017 Series: T20 Team squad

Pak Vs West Indies 2017 Series: T20 Team squad

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is likely to announce the Twenty20 squad for West Indies series on March 17.

According to details, chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq and head coach Mickey Arthur have shortlisted 25 players for training camp that is going to be started from March 11. The players will report team management on March 10.

It has been informed that Kamran Akmal and Mohammad Hafeez will open the innings for Pakistan in Twenty20s in place of provisionally suspended players Sharjeel Khan and Khalid Latif. Fate of fast bowler Mohammad Irfan will also be decided after inquiry of spot-fixing case.

Young spinner Shadab Khan will also be picked up for the West Indies tour, but final decision will be taken by Twenty20 captain Sarfraz Ahmed when he joins the camp.

The selection of former one-day international (ODI) skipper of Pakistan Azhar Ali in ODIs is also in doubt because Kamran Akmal is strong candidate for his position in the 50-over format as well.

Selection of Yasir Shah in Twenty20s and ODIs is also doubtful after poor series against New Zealand and Australia. Moreover, Shadab Khan is a wonderful addition in spin attack with Mohammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim and Mohammad Hafeez. We may see Shadab Khan in action in Test series against West Indies if he performs well in Twenty20s and ODIs.

The first of four Twenty20s between Pakistan and West Indies will be played on March 26, and Pakistan team will leave for West Indies on March 20. Three ODIs and three Test matches will be played afterwards.