PSL 3: Which is going to be the sixth Team

PSL 3: Which is going to be the sixth Team

Pakistan Super League Chairman Najam Sethi has announced that the PSL management is trying to hold at least eight matches in Pakistan in the next season of Pakistan Super League.

“Will try for up to 8 matches in Pak! Inshallah,” PSL chairman Najam Sethi tweeted on Friday night, adding that there will be six teams in the next edition of Pakistan Super League.

Sethi further added that with the addition of one more team to the league, the number of total matches in the league would rise from 24 to 34.

PSL hosted the final of league’s second edition in Lahore earlier this year, with foreign players including former West Indian captain Darren Sammy participating in the match.

Meanwhile, sources have told that PCB is contemplating different names for the sixth team in PSL which would be added ahead of the next season, a final name would be decided after suggestions from all the stakeholders, including potential owners of the sixth franchise.

“The potential owner will have the advantage of buying a region of his choice,” said the source adding that possible names for the sixth franchises could be Azad Kashmir, Gilgit Baltistan, Sialkot, Multan or Faisalabad.

A special meeting of PCB’s Board of Governors will also be convened to discuss and finalise the inclusion of the sixth team in Pakistan Super League.

The source added that the sixth team will get some back-to-back picks in the players’ draft before the formal draft process so that equal level of field can be provided to them before going into the formal drafts ahead of the next season.