PSL 2019: Name for the sixth franchise revealed finally

PSL 2019: Name for the sixth franchise revealed finally

MULTAN – The name for the sixth team of the Pakistan Super League has been revealed by the owner Ali Khan Tareen, the son of former Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) secretary general Jahangir Tareen.

Tareen formally announced the name of his newly bought franchise for Pakistan Cricket League (PSL) on Sunday.

In a video message on Twitter, the young Tareen said he has decided to retain the previous name of Multan Sultans after getting feedback from fans in South Punjab.

On Dec 20, the Ali Tareen-led Multan consortium won the franchise rights for the sixth team of the cricket league.

According to a tweet by PSL, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had set the reserve price at $5.21 million per year for a period of seven years. “This reserve price has been exceeded by the bid winners.”

The spot for the sixth team was up for grabs after Multan Sultans were disqualified after appearing in just one edition of the league held early this year.

On November 10, the PCB terminated the agreement which gave franchise rights of Multan Sultans PSL team to the Schon Group due to their inability to meet the financial obligations under the PSL agreement.

Following this, PCB invited interested bidders for the sale of the team. Though a good response was received from different bidders, only two could qualify for the decisive stage, a Pak­istan Cricket Board official had said earlier.