New controversy rises over deceptive tactics by SA Quinton De Kock in Fakhar Zaman runout

Shares
New controversy rises over deceptive tactics by SA Quinton De Kock in Fakhar Zaman runout

Johannesburg: The London based cricket club Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has stated that it was up to the umpires to decide if Quinton De Kock had attempted to distract or deceive Pakistani opener Fakhar Zaman in the second One Day Internationals (ODI) against South Africa.

According to details, in the second ODI series South African wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock, who was waiting to collect the ball at the striker’s end and pointed to the non-striker’s end.

Distracting by the gesture, Zaman turned round and looked back before making a belated attempt to slide his bat in.

However, there’s a strong argument arose over the debate whether the South African player was trying to deceive the batsman or signaling to his team-mates.

Later on, the MCC on its official Twitter handle posted the law related to the dismissal regarding a fielder willfully attempting to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman.

The MCC wrote, “Law 41.5.1 states: “It is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball”.

“The Law is clear, with the offence being an ATTEMPT to deceive, rather than the batsman actually being deceived,” it added.

The MCC concluded saying, it’s up to the umpires to decide if there was such an attempt.

“If so, then it's Not out, 5 Penalty runs + the 2 they ran, and batsmen choose who faces next ball”.