Nawaz Sharif elected PML-N President unopposed

Nawaz Sharif elected PML-N President unopposed

ISLAMABAD: Former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has been elected unopposed as President Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz for a term of four years.


The party's general council meeting was held here at Convention Center on Tuesday where no other contestant filed nomination papers against Nawaz Sharif paving the way for his unopposed election.


The five member Election Commission of the party led by Chaudhry Jaffer Iqbal conducted the election.


The Election Commission had held its first meeting on September 29 to make arrangements for the polls.


Ten nomination papers all proposing the name of Muhammad Nawaz Sharif were filed by members of Pakistan Muslim League(N).


Chaudhry Jaffer Iqbal formally announced that Nawaz Sharif was elected unopposed.


Nawaz Sharif was congratulated by the party leaders including Raja Zafarul Haq, Shehbaz Sharif, Chaudhry Nisar, Ahsan Iqbal, Saad Rafique, Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhry and others on his election as president of the party.