In a big upset, PPP Yusuf Raza Gillani secures victory in Senate election with 169 votes

In a big upset, PPP Yusuf Raza Gillani secures victory in Senate election with 169 votes

After a major electoral battle, former Prime Minister and Opposition Leader Yousaf Raza Gilani secures victory against the ruling party’s Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh.

Yousaf Raza Gilani has gained 169 votes whereas Abdul Hafeez Shaikh could only gain 164 votes.

After the announcement, both the candidates shook hands and hugged each other and several other politicians extend congratulations to the winner.

Results for the Senate Elections have started pouring in as counting of votes link continue. Voting Opens link

The voting process has begun at 9AM at the Parliament House. Shafiq Arain of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) was the first lawmaker who cast his vote in the Senate elections followed by PTI’s Faisal Vawda.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had announced that the polls will be held as provided in the Constitution and Law as per past practice. According to the official announcement, ECP is taking all possible steps and measures to complete its constitutional duty to check that corrupt practices in the Senate polls are guarded against.

The voting process link in the Senate can be complex and it only involves our elected representatives.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is likely to become the largest party in the upper house with 28 seats after the Senate Election 2021, while the number of government and opposition members in the 100-member house is expected to be almost equal.

PPP is likely to become the second-largest party with 19 seats, PML-N third with 18 seats, and Balochistan Awami Party fourth with 12 seats.

According to Election Commission officials, elections will be held for 48 Senate seats this time. There will be no elections for FATA seats, which will reduce the number of Senate seats from 104 to 10.