Polling underway to fill 52 vacant seats of Senate

Polling underway to fill 52 vacant seats of Senate

ISLAMABAD:Polling to fill the fifty two vacant seats of Senate is underway at the National and four provincial assemblies.

At the National Assembly hall, declared polling station for the Senate elections, the polling started at 9 a.m. with Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq being the first in the line to cast his vote followed by Minister for Defense Production Rana Tanveer and Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Sheikh Aftab Ahmad.

Other prominent members who have so far cast their vote include Leader of Opposition Khurshid Shah, Minister for Inter-Provincial Coordination Riaz Pirzada, and Minister of State for Finance Rana Afzal Khan.

Five candidates are vying for two seats from the federal capital while 24 candidates are in the run for four FATA seats.

Polling will continue without any break till 4 p.m.

In Lahore, Provincial Election Commissioner Sharifullah is conducting the polling process as Returning Officer.

In Sindh Assembly, two polling booths have been established in the assembly to facilitate the members' assembly who will cast their votes to elect 12 senators.

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, elections are being held on 11 seats. These include seven general seats and two seats each reserved for women and technocrats.

13 candidates are in the run for general seats. Similarly, eight candidates are contesting election on women seat and five on technocrat seats.

In Balochistan, 23 candidates are in the run for 11 seats of Senate.APP/AFP