National Women Hockey Championship from August 5

National Women Hockey Championship from August 5

LAHORE: Top women hockey teams of the country will showcase their talent and technique in the 29th edition of the National Women Hockey Championship which rolls into action from August 5 at Naseer Bunda hockey stadium Islamabad.

In this competition as many as 11 teams are participating, WAPDA is likely to defend the title for the fourth time in a row, said a spokesman of Pakistan Hockey Federation while talking to APP here on Tuesday.

The other participating teams are Railways, Army, HEC, Punjab Colours, Punjab Whites, Sindh Colours, Sindh Whites, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan and Islamabad.

A keen competition will be witnessed during the event as all the teams are preparing hard in their respective training camps which are in final stage. Railways, the runners up of the last event, is all set to throw a tough challenge to the holders, he asserted.

The teams are divided into two pools. The top two sides from each pool will qualify for the semi-finals.

“PHF will encourage the outstanding players by awarding them special prizes”, he said adding “There are awards for the Best Player, Best Goal keeper and Top scorer.”

The event will serve as trials for the next assignment of the national team the 4th Women’s Asian Hockey Federation Cup in Bangkok, Thailand, to be held from October 1 to 9.