Sheikh Rashid Ahmed creates history in the politics of Pakistan

Sheikh Rashid Ahmed creates history in the politics of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD - Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed has created history in the politics of Pakistan as he became the senior-most parliamentarian in Pakistan.

Earlier, there were four senior parliamentarians including PPP-P former president Makhdoom Amin Fahim, former federal minister for production Chaudhry Anwar Ali Cheema, former interior minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan and AML Chief Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed.

Amin Fahim and Anwar Ali Cheema have passed away and Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan has been out, following his defeat on two national assembly seats in the recently held general elections.

Sheikh Rasheed is the only parliamentarian left who won the 2018 general elections. Rasheed was candidate from NA-60 and NA-62 constituencies.

However, due to postponement of the election in NA-60, Sheikh Rasheed could only contest NA-62 and defeated his opponent candidates. With the support of PTI, Sheikh Rasheed succeeded to get majority and defeated his opponent candidates with good margin.

History shows that Rasheed defeated his political opponents for eight times in his political life. He won first election in 1985 from NA-38 constituency. His election symbol was “bulb” and he contested that election as an independent candidate.

Later on, NA-38 was divided into NA-55 and NA-56. Rasheed won election on the ticket of PML-N later. He also contested election with symbol of moon and star in the capacity of independent candidate.

Rasheed also contested election on the ticket of PML-Q with election symbol ‘bicycle’. Rasheed announced his own political party, Awami Muslim League (AML), with election symbol inkpot and pen. In 2013 general elections, he won from NA-55 constituency.

In the recently held general elections, Rasheed contested from NA-60 and NA-62 constituencies following changes in the constituencies. Sheikh Rasheed won the contest with majority in NA-62 and became Member of National Assembly.