Cricket comes home: Timeline of the cricket series in Pakistan after terror attack of 2009

Cricket comes home: Timeline of the cricket series in Pakistan after terror attack of 2009

KARACHI - *Here's a look back at the teams and composite teams from various countries who have played short series in Pakistan since 2009, when a terror attack on the Sri Lankan team bus forced Pakistan to host teams in other countries, particularly UAE.*

*March 3, 2009*

The Sri Lankan team bus and a mini-van carrying match officials are attacked by militants near the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore ahead of the third day of a Test match. Six Sri Lankan players are injured; a reserve umpire suffers serious injuries. Six security men and two civilians are killed in the firing. The Test match and the tour is cancelled.

*April 2009*

With teams refusing to tour the country over security fears, Pakistan is forced to host its ‘home’ matches in neutral venues, predominantly in the UAE (Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah). England hosts two Tests in 2010 between Pakistan and Australia. 15114208

*April 2009*

Pakistan is dropped as a co-host of the 2011 World Cup in the subcontinent. Its 16 matches are shared between the other co-hosts - India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

*February 2013*

An Afghanistan XI arrives in Pakistan to play three unofficial games against a Pakistan A side, including two one-dayers and a T20, in Lahore, Multan and Hyderabad. The hosts win all three games.

*December 2014*

Kenya tours the country for five limited-overs matches against Pakistan A, all in Lahore. The hosts win all five games.

*May 2015*

Zimbabwe becomes the first Test team to tour Pakistan since 2009. The two T20s and three ODIs are all held at Lahore. The Zimbabweans are given State-guest-level security. Pakistan win all games, save for the final ODI which is washed out.

*March 5, 2017*

The Pakistan Super League final is played in Lahore. The T20 tournament is normally played in the UAE, but the Pakistan Cricket Board is keen to prove its readiness to host international players. The match is staged successfully without incident. International players, including Marlon Samuels, Darren Sammy and Chris Jordan, make the trip.

*September 2017*

A World XI side led by South Africa’s Faf du Plessis, plays three official T20s in Lahore. Pakistan wins the series 2-1. Other big names that make the trip include George Bailey, David Miller, Hashim Amla, Samuel Badree and veteran Paul Collingwood.

*October *2017

The Sri Lankans returned to Lahore for the first time in eight years since the horrific terror attack on their team bus. Sri Lanka agreed to play a solitary T20 in Pakistan, as a continuation of the tour of the UAE. The third and final T20 match of the series was played at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. However, the pull out of several big players from the Sri Lankan side for the Pakistan leg of the tour took the sheen out of the contest, and Pakistan won easily by 36 runs.