LHC stays demotion 8 police officials 

LHC stays demotion 8 police officials 

LAHORE: (APP) The Lahore High Court (LHC) on Thursday stayed implementation of demotion orders of eight police officials.

Justice Muhammad Ameer Bhatti passed the orders on a petition, filed by SP Farooq, SP Amjad Quershi, DSP Riaz Ali Shah, DSP Sarwar Awan, DSP Rashid, DSP Nasir Awan, DSP Rana Islam and DSP Zulfiqar and others, challenging their demotion orders.

Earlier, the counsel submitted that the petitioners did not fall in the out-of-turn promotion category, but the inspector general of police (IGP) Punjab misinterpreted the Supreme Court judgement and demoted his clients without providing them with any opportunity of personal hearing.

He submitted that the IGP orders were a violation of Article 10-A of the Constitution, which guarantees the right to a fair trial and an inquiry. He requested the court to set aside the orders being unconstitutional.

At this, the court disposing of the petition stayed implementation of the demotion orders. The court directed the IGP Punjab to afford an opportunity of personal hearing to all petitioners and then decide on the matter.