PML N failing to get required number for CM Punjab slot: Sources

PML N failing to get required number for CM Punjab slot: Sources

LAHORE – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) is failing to gather required number for slot of CM Punjab.

PML N is still striving hard to convince the independent MPAs-elect for support in forming government in Punjab.

Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) has rejected to make alliance with PML-N and announced to go with Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

At least 149 seats are required to form government in Punjab. PML-N had secured 129 seats and PTI had taken 123 seats in recently held general elections. However, the count for PTI has escalated to 134 after the joining of independent MPAs-elect. Including 8 members from PML Q makes PTI total number to 142.

On the other hand, PML-N leader Rana Sanaullah was also failed to woo Maulana Muavia Azam and Taimur Bhatti in Jhang.

Earlier, an independent MPA-elect from Okara, Jugnu Mohsin held a meeting with PML-N president Shehbaz Sharif on Sunday. ------------------------------

Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had announced results link the national and provincial assemblies, more than 56 hours after the conclusion of voting for the 2018 General Elections in the country.

Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) party has won 116 of the 270 National Assembly seats, emerging as the largest political party in the country. The PML-N grabbed 64 seats, while the PPP is in third place with 43 National Assembly seats.

Similarly, Mutahida Majlis Amal (MMA) secured 12 seats and Pakistan Muslim League (Q), Balochistan Natioanl Party, Mutahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan, and Balochistan Awami Party has secured 4, 03, 06, and 04 seat respectively.

Awami National Party (ANP) has won one seat, Awami Muslim League (AML), Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaniyat and Jamhoori Wattan Party (JWP) have also grabbed one NA seat each.

Fourteen independent candidates have also remained successful in their constituencies. They are likely to play an important role in formation of the federal government.