Sindh Assembly number game for CM Sindh elections

Sindh Assembly number game for CM Sindh elections

KARACHI: (APP) Sindh assembly consists of 168 members. Ruling Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) needs at least 85 votes to get its nominated member Murad Ali Shah elected as the next Chief Minister. PPP has 91 members in the house.

However two PPP members Sherjeel Memon and Owais Muzaffar will not be able to cast their votes. And PPP did not contact Husnain Mirza to get his vote.

While MQM had 51 members elected in 2013 General Election. Some of them have gone to Pakistan Sarzameen Party (PSP) and now 48 members remain with MQM. Out of it 12 members are out of country and one member Rauf Sissiqui is in jail.

PMLN has eight members in Sindh assembly.

And PTI had 4 members while one member has gone to PSP.

Similarly Muslim League Functional has 11 members.

So in this way opposition parties have 74 members in total out of which elections on 4 vacant seats could not be held and it goes down to 70 members.