PSL Playoffs: Peshawar Zalmi Vs Quetta Gladiators match update live

PSL Playoffs: Peshawar Zalmi Vs Quetta Gladiators match update live

SHARJAH: Peshawar Zalmi Vs Quetta Gladiators first play off was played here at Sharjah.

Quetta Gladiators won nail-biting encounter against Peshawar Zalmi by one run in the first playoff of the Pakistan Super League 2017 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.


Last year, Zalmi failed to score 8 off last over, this year they failed to score 7 off last over, lost by 1 run on both, same as it was in 2016.


Muhammad Nawaz conceded just five runs in the last over of the match while Zalmi needed seven to win the match.


Earlier, Zalmi lost the wickets of Kamran Akmal and Marlon Samuels as they try to accelerate in order to chase Gladiators big target.


But a 139-run partnership between Muhammad Hafeez and Dawid Malan put Zalmi right back into the match. Hafeez got out after scoring brilliant 77 runs while Malan managed 56 quick-fire runs.

For Quetta, Zulfiqar Babar, Tymal Mills and Muhammad Nawaz picked one each while Samuels got run out. 

Earlier Zalmi won the toss and elected to field.

Ahmad Shahzad’s magnificent innings in the first play off helped Quetta Gladiators set a huge target of 201 against Peshawar Zalmi at Sharjah.  


Sent into bat first, Shahzad scored 71 off 38 with the help of 4 sixes and 7 fours in partnership with Kevin Pietersen, who made 22-ball 40 to guide Gladiators to 200-7 in 20 overs game.


Wahab Riaz was pick of the bowlers for Zalmi bagging 3 wickets at the expense of 39 runs. 

The second playoff will be played between Islamabad United and Karachi Kings on tomorrow (Wednesday) at the same venue.

Peshawar Zalmi: Darren Sammy (captain), Shahid Afridi, Sohaib Maqsood, Eoin Morgan, Wahab Riaz, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mohammad Hafeez, Chris Jordan, Samit Patel, Kamran Akmal, Iftikhar Ahmed, Harris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Asghar, Marlon Samuels, Andre Fletcher, Khushdil Shah, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Imran Khan (jr), Junaid Khan, M. Irfan Khan.

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Umar Gul, Asad Shafiq, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Nawaz, Kevin Pietersen, Luke Wright, Rilee Rossouw, Mahmudullah Riyad, Anwar Ali, Tymal Mills, Hassan Khan, Nathan McCullum, Thisara Perera, Bismillah Khan, Mir Hamza, Zulfiqar Babar, Saad Nasim, Umar Amin, Noor Wali.