Peshawar Zalmi Vs Quetta Gladiators match scorecard

Peshawar Zalmi Vs Quetta Gladiators match scorecard

SHARJAH: Quetta Gladiators faced Peshawar Zalmi in the first play off here at Sharjah. 

  Quetta Gladiators won nail-biting encounter against Peshawar Zalmi by one run in the first playoff of the Pakistan Super League 2017 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.


Last year, Zalmi failed to score 8 off last over, this year they failed to score 7 off last over, lost by 1 run on both, same as it was in 2016.


Muhammad Nawaz conceded just five runs in the last over of the match while Zalmi needed seven to win the match.


Earlier, Zalmi lost the wickets of Kamran Akmal and Marlon Samuels as they try to accelerate in order to chase Gladiators big target.


But a 139-run partnership between Muhammad Hafeez and Dawid Malan put Zalmi right back into the match. Hafeez got out after scoring brilliant 77 runs while Malan managed 56 quick-fire runs.


For Quetta, Zulfiqar Babar, Tymal Mills and Muhammad Nawaz picked one each while Samuels got run out.

Earlier Peshawar Zalmi won the toss and invited Quetta Gladiators to bat in the first playoff of the Pakistan Super League 2017 at Sharjah Cricket Stadium here Tuesday.

Ahmad Shahzad’s magnificent innings in the first play off helped Quetta Gladiators set a huge target of 201 against Peshawar Zalmi at Sharjah.  


Sent into bat first, Shahzad scored 71 off 38 with the help of 4 sixes and 7 fours in partnership with Kevin Pietersen, who made 22-ball 40 to guide Gladiators to 200-7 in 20 overs game.


Wahab Riaz was pick of the bowlers for Zalmi bagging 3 wickets at the expense of 39 runs. 

Winner of this game will make their way to the final of the tournament, scheduled to be held at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on March 5.


Quetta Gladiators

LJ Wright, Ahmed Shehzad, KP Pietersen, RR Rossouw, Mohammad Nawaz (3), Sarfraz Ahmed (Captain), Saad Nasim, Anwar Ali, Hasan Khan, Zulfiqar Babar and TS Mills.

Peshawar Zalmi

DJ Malan, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez, MN Samuels, DJG Sammy (Captain), Haris Sohail, Shahid Afridi, CJ Jordan, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali and Mohammad Asghar.