Former CM KP Pervaiz Khattak gets the worst blow

Former CM KP Pervaiz Khattak gets the worst blow

PESHAWAR - Former CM KP Pervaiz Khattak lost one of the two provincial assembly seats in Nowshera to the Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP).

In PK-64 Nowshera-IV, Khattak only managed 15,196 votes, while TLP’s Syed Haider Shah won the seat with 16,914 votes.

The former chief minister, though, managed to retain PK-61 Nowshera-I, bagging 20,647 votes. His nearest competitor in that seat was namesake Parvez Khan of the ANP who got 16,054 votes.

Khattak also won the national assembly seat, NA-25 Nowshera-I, by securing a whopping 82,118 votes compared to another namesake, Khan Pervez of the PPP who managed a mere 35,658 votes.

Another PTI source suggested that the party needs to hang on to its NA sets to secure a majority in the centre, which is why the party has decided to use all of its NA seats. This leaves Atif as the most suitable candidate for the CM slot with Khattak and Qaiser retaining their NA seats.