What is the party seats position in Punjab Assembly? Interesting results

What is the party seats position in Punjab Assembly? Interesting results

ISLAMABAD - In Punjab, with results from nearly one third polling stations results, PML-N is currently leading the race with 130 provincial seats but PTI is closing in with 120 seats.

Meanwhile, PTI is clearly steering ahead in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa with 62 seats against ANP, which currently has 10 seats, as per reporting from 16pc polling stations in the province.

Counting is still going on at the polling stations of different constituencies.

PML-N President Shahbaz Sharif said his party rejects the poll results. In a tweet, he said the party had rejected the results "due to manifest and massive irregularities".

"Form-45 was not given to our agents, results were stopped and votes were counted in the absence of our polling agents. This is both unbearable and unacceptable," he said.

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari also tweeted saying he had not received any official results from any constituency where he was contesting, despite it being past midnight. "My candidates [have been] complaining [that] polling agents have been thrown out of polling stations across the country. Inexcusable and outrageous."

PPP's Sherry Rehman also claimed that "there has been a clear trend of interference, in which all parties except one are being pushed to the wall".

"The whole election could be declared null and void considering just what has occurred over the last three hours," she said, adding that the party expects its complaints to be addressed by midnight.

Awami National Party leader Ghulam Ahmed Bilour conceded defeat to PTI 's Shaukat Ali, his competitor on Peshawar's NA-31 seat, saying: "The results indicate that Imran Khan is a favourite leader of the people of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. I am a democratic person and I admit the defeat."

48pc counting has been done in NA-9 (Buner), with PTI 's Sher Akbar Khan in the lead with 25,239 votes, according to *PTV News'* unofficial preliminary results. ANP's Abdur Rauf is the runner-up with 14,865 votes.

44pc counting has been done in NA-79 (Gujranwala-I), with PML-N's candidate Nisar Ahmed Cheema in the lead with 618 votes, according to *PTV News'* unofficial preliminary results. PTI 's Muhammad Ahmed Chattha is the runner-up with 587 votes.

According to *AFP*, Gallup Pakistan estimated voter turnout at between 50 to 55 per cent in an electorate of nearly 106 million — similar to the previous contest in 2013.

According to data released by ECP, a total of 3,459 candidates — 1,623 from Punjab, 824 from Sindh, 725 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and 287 from Balochistan — were cleared to run for the 272 general seats of the national assembly. However, elections in two constituencies — NA-60, NA-108 — were later postponed by the commission.

A single party will need to bag at least 137 of the directly elected seats to be able to form the government on its own.

In the event that a party is unable to secure a “simple majority”, there is a hung parliament. This is when no single party can make government, leaving room for the formation of a coalition government of winning candidates from various political parties.