10 biggest upsets of General Elections 2018 in Pakistan

10 biggest upsets of General Elections 2018 in Pakistan

ISLAMABAD - Results of the Elections 2018 came as a surprise to these prominent political leaders who were completely ousted out of the polls by the candidates of the opposing political parties.

Here is a list of 10 prominent political personalities who suffered major setbacks yesterday:

*Maulana Fazal ur Rehman*

Leader JUI-F Maulana Fazal ur Rehman suffered a major shock as he was ousted by rookie candidates of the Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf on two seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. He contested the general elections as a candidate of MMA from two seats in KPK, losing both by a fair margin of

*Khawaja Asif*

Former Foreign Minister of Pakistan and prominent candidate Pakistan Mulsim League Nawaz, Khawaja Asif lost the elections against PTI’s Usman Dar in his home town of Sialkot. Khawaja Asif was up against Usman Dar in NA 73 where he was ousted by the 43-year-old.

*Khaqan Abbasi*

Former Prime Minister of Pakistan, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi also lost both the seats he was contesting from. The senior politician and ex minister lost NA 53 and NA 57 by approximately 48000 and 12000 votes respectively.

*Ghulam Ahmed Bilour*

ANP leader and prominent political worker, Ghulam Ahmed Bilour lost against PTI’s Shoukat Ali from NA 31 – Peshawar. Shoukat Ali won the polls convincingly bagging 88000 votes.

*Siraj ul Haq*

MMA’s Siraj ul Haq suffered a shock defeat from NA-7, Lower Dir by approximately 17000 votes. PTI’s Muhammad Bashir Khan bagged a total of 62,416 votes.

*Chaudhry Nisar*

Ex-Interior Minister and renowned party worker, Chaudhry Nisar suffered a huge shock when he lost from both provincial and national seats in the elections. The ex-minister lost against PTI’s Ghulam Sarwar by a margin of nearly 16000 votes in Rawalpindi. This is the first time since 1985 that the ex-minister has lost his seat in Rawalpindi.

*Mustafa Kamal*

Pakistan Sar-Zameen Party leader Mustafa Kamal also lost the elections from both his National Assembly seats.

*Abid Sher Ali*

Former Minister for Water and Power, Abid Sher Ali also lost his seats in an upset defeat. He lost his seat from Faisalabad which was previously considered as a stronghold of PML N by only a margin of 1200 votes.

PMLN Chief Shahbaz Sharif lost from his seat in Dera Ghazi Khan and KP.

Bilawal Bhutto Zardari lost from KP.