Big political blow to Sharifs: One MNA, Two MPAs, 13 Chairmans quit party from Gujranwala


GUJRANWALA – The ruling Pakistan Muslim League gets a big political blow in its stronghold as several sitting and former lawmakers quit party.

Gujranwala is considered as a strong hold of PML N and lawmakers quitting party from there is a food for thought for the party.

PML N MNA Mian Tariq Mehmood and two former MPAs have quit ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) on Sunday.

PML-N has suffered a political blow in Gujranwala after MPA from NA-98 constituency Mian Tariq Mehmood and two former MPAs namely Mian Azhar Javed and Dr Ghulam Sarwar belonging to the party parted ways from the organisation.

Sources have reported that MNA Mehmood is to contest in the General Elections 2018 against defence minister Khurram Dastagir.

On the other hand, chairmen and vice-chairmen of three municipal committees have parted ways with PML-N. PML-N has also lost chairmen and vice-chairmen of 13 Union Councils (UC) as they announced to separate with the ruling party.