PP-7 Taxila by elections: PTI Vs. PML (N)

PP-7 Taxila by elections: PTI Vs. PML (N)

ISLAMABAD (APP): The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has finalized arrangements for holding transparent by- elections on the vacant seat of Provincial Assembly PP 07 Taxila (Rawalpindi-VII) on Monday.

According to schedule, the polling will start at 8 am and continue till 5 pm sans any formal interval. As many as 167 polling stations have been divided in three categories. 21 polling stations have been kept in category A, 38 in category B, and 108 polling stations have been put in category C.

READ MORE: GBLA- 6 by elections : PML-N candidate clinches victory

A total of 2,000 police officers have been deployed to provide security to voters.The training of polling staff has already been completed. District Returning Officer Abdullah Khalid, Election Officer Tanveer Ahmed has trained the polling staff.The contingents of Elite force would be deployed to ensure free, fair and transparent elections.The ECP has already directed candidates to stop election campaign from Saturday night.

Haji Malik Muhammad Umer Farooq of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) and Ammar Siddique Khan of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Chaudhary Kamran Aslam of Pakistan Peoples Party are in the run.

The seat fell vacant owing to the death of Pakistan Tehreek-e- Insaf (PTI) MPA Muhammad Siddique Khan. His son Ammar Siddique Khan is contesting on the vacant seat of his father.

More from this category