28 countries of the World which have legalised same sex marriages

28 countries of the World which have legalised same sex marriages

The LGBTQ community across the world saw several highs and lows in 2017, but is ending the year on a high note. Australia legalised same sex marriages  on December 7, 2017, joining just a handful of countries across the world that have done so.

Malta, Germany, Finland and Austria also joined Australia this year, legalising gay marriages. In Austria, the law will kick in from January 1, 2019.

But forget equal economic rights, the topic of homosexuality is not only taboo but actually illegal — with punishments going up to the death penalty in some cases — in a majority of the countries worldwide. In India, Section 377 of the Indian Penal Code criminalises homosexuality, and efforts of some parliamentarians to bring in new laws have not borne fruit.

Here is an interactive map of the status of same-sex marriage laws across the world.

 Twenty-eight countries across the world have now legalised same-sex marriages. Thirteen countries offer civil unions and partnerships, all of which are in Europe except Chile and Ecuador. South Africa is the only African country to have legalised same-sex marriages.

Only certain territories of Mexico perform same-sex marriages, but the country unanimously recognises it. In Japan, some cities/wards issue a partnership certificate to same-sex couples.

San Marino is in the process of enacting civil union laws, while marriage laws are under debate in Panama.

Netherlands’ Aruba and UK’s Northern Ireland and Jersey have not legalised same-sex marriage. Instead, civil union/registered partnership is legal. But Aruba recognises marriages performed in Netherlands.

Armenia, Israel and Peru (as of 2017) recognise same-sex marriages performed in other countries, where it is legal.

The Taiwanese Supreme Court, in March 2017, ordered the legislature to either amend the existing laws or to introduce new laws within two years to legalise same-sex marriage. If this goes through, Taiwan would be the first Asian country to do it.