PSL Spot Fixers in worst trouble

PSL Spot Fixers in worst trouble

Government agencies have now taken the matters in their own hands with the Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar ordering the names of the five players, suspended for alleged involvement in spot-fixing during PSL2, be placed on the Exit Control List.

In a meeting held on Monday, the Interior Minister approved the Federal Investigation Agency’s (FIA) request that the names of Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Irfan, Shahzaib Hasan and Nasir Jamshed be included on the ECL.

According to the report, the FIA, which is conducting investigation into the PSL spot-fixing case, had written a letter to Chaudhry Nisar over the weekend stating that these five players are wanted in the investigation and hence their names should be put on the list.

Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Irfan and Shahzaib Hasan have been provisionally suspended from all forms of cricket for violating the Pakistan Cricket Board’s anti-corruption code. Sharjeel and Latif, who were suspended during the opening week of the PSL for suspected links with an international fixing syndicate, face a minimum five years’ ban.

Shahzaib, who was charged and suspended on Friday, also faces a minimum five years’ ban. Fast bowler Mohammad Irfan faces a minimum six months’ ban.

Nasir Jamshed, who resides in the UK, was suspended during PSL after the PCB said it had ‘concrete evidence’ against the former opener. He was also arrested along with another suspect by Britain’s National Crime Agency last month as part of investigations but later released on bail, according to reports.

Meanwhile, PCB has announced that the three members of the Anti-Corruption Tribunal tasked with adjudicating the spot-fixing matter on Monday issued notices to PCB , Sharjeel Khan and Khalid Latif to hold a preliminary hearing on Friday March 24 from 11:30am at the National Cricket Academy, Lahore. The tribunal includes Justice (Retired) Asghar Haider (Chairman), Lt. General (Retired) Tauqir Zia (Member) and former Test player Wasim Bari (Member).

More from this category