AJK Elections: Election Commission steps for voters facilitation

AJK Elections: Election Commission steps for voters facilitation

RAWALPINDI (APP): The Azad Jammu and Kashmir Election Commission (AJKEC) will facilitate the voters of Kashmir Elections through SMS services.

A spokesman of the AJKEC said here Tuesday that the voter can find his name, vote number and polling station by sending number of Computerized National Identity Card (CNIC) at 8302.

The AJKEC within no time will reply the sender with a detailed SMS message which will contain all the required information that would be sufficient for a voter to easily find out his polling booth and cast his vote. The SMS service will also be available to all the voters on Election Day on July 21 (Thursday), he added.

The election campaign in all constituencies including LA-35 Jammu-6, LA-39, valley 4 and LA-40 valley 5 will end at 12 p.m. (Tuesday night) and no public meetings or rallies would be held after the deadline.

Thirteen candidates are contesting the elections for LA-35 Jammu-6, Five candidates are contesting for LA-39, valley 4 while 8 candidates are contesting for LA-40 valley 5.

The major candidates in LA-35 are Raja Siddique of PML(N), Chaudary Fakhar Zaman of PPP and Hameed Khan of PTI while 7 independent candidates are also contesting the seat.The constituency comprises of Rawalpindi, Attock, Chakwal and Jhelum districts. The total number of voters is 53224 including 28939 male and 24285 female.

In LA-39 valley 4 five candidates are contesting including Asad Aleem Shah of PML(N), Azhar Gillani of PPP, Syed Ishtiaq of PTI and Raja Aurangzeb and Hasham Butt independent.

The total number of voters are 3584 including 1963 male and 1621 female. The constituency comprises area of Rawalpindi city and cantonment.

Eight candidates are contesting for the seat of LA-40 valley 5 including Muhammad Ahmed Qadri of PML(N), Abdul Salam Butt of PPP,and Mehr un Nisa of Muslim Conference backed by PTI while five others are contesting as independent candidates. The total number of voters are 6257 including 3437 male and 2820 female. The constituency comprises of Rawalpindi city, Murree,Hasan Abdal, Taxila, Wah and Kahuta.

Meanwhile, the District police have formulated a foolproof security plan to maintain peace and harmony during the elections.

Regional Police Officer Wasal Fakhar Sultan told APP that display of weapons and aerial firing by the candidates or their supporters would not be allowed.

"Those breaching the law or challenging writ of the government will face stern legal action," he warned, asking the candidates to cooperate with the police to ensure peaceful polling.

Meanwhile 17000 security personnel including Pak Army Frontier Constabulary and Punjab Constabulary would be deployed in the Kashmir Election to maintain law and order.