ECP announces 12 Elections Tribunals for appeals disposal

ECP announces 12 Elections Tribunals for appeals disposal

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday announced the establishment of election tribunals which will hear and dispose of appeals filed against decisions taken by returning officer.

The country’s electoral body has established 12 tribunals on the recommendation of chief justices of high courts.

Five tribunals have been established in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (K-P). Justice Syed Afsar Shah, Justice Musarrat Hilali, Justice Lal Jan Khattak, Justice Mohammad Ghazanfar, Justice Abdul Shakoor and Justice Ijaz Anwar will be presiding over the trials in the province from Peshawar, Abbotabad, Mingora, Bannu and Dera Ismail Khan. Four out of the five tribunals are single bench.

In Punjab, Justice Syed Shahbaz Ali Rizvi, Justice Faisal Zaman Khan, Justice Ali Akbar Qureshi and Justice Tariq Saleem Sheikh form the tribunal for Lahore. Justice Masood Abid Naqvi will preside over the Bhawalpur bench, Justice Qazi Mohammad Amin Ahmed and Justice Mirza Viqas will be presiding over Multan bench and Justice Ibadur Rehman will hear cases in Rawalpindi.

Two tribunals will be set up in Sindh and one in Balochistan. Justice Mohammad Karim Khan Agha, Justice Yousaf Ali Sayeed and Justice Syed Hassan Azhar Rizvi will be overlooking the principal seat in Karachi. Justice Fahim Siddiqui will overlook the Sukkur bench. Justice Mohammad Hashim Khan Kakkar and Justice Muhammad Ejaz Swati will hold trials at the principal seat in Quetta.

Returning officers (ROs) on Tuesday will conclude the scrutiny of credentials of over 21,000 candidates in the run for the July 25 general elections.

More from this category