34 member federal cabinet names and portfolios revealed

*ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) senior leader Miftah Ismail was appointed the new federal minister for finance after PM Shehbaz Sharif announced his 34-member cabinet today.*

Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani administered the oath to the newly-elected Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif’s 34-member cabinet.

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, speaker of National Assembly Raja Pervaiz Ashraf and other officials also attended the ceremony.

The newly appointed finance Miftah Ismail will be among the officials responsible for negotiating with the IMF to resume seventh review of the $6 billion Extended Fund Facility program that went into jeopardy after former Prime Minister Imran Khan’s ouster through no-confidence motion. *Cabinet portfolios *

Rana Sanaullah ­ Interior Minister

Miftah Ismail Finance Minister

Hina Rabbani Khar Minister of State for Foreign Affairs

Ahsan Iqbal Planning, Development and Special Initiatives

Marriyum Aurangzeb Information and Broadcasting

Azam Nazeer Tarar Law and Justice

Ameenul Haq Information and Technology

Maulana Asad Communications

Mufti Shakoor Religious Affairs

Talha Mehmood SAFRON

Maulana Abdul Wasey Housing and Construction

Shazia Marri BISP

Qadir Patel Ministry of Health

Khawaja Saad Rafique Railways

Tariq Bashir Cheema Food Security

Israr Tareen Defence Production *Following are the names of the cabinet members:*

- Khawaja Muhammad Asif, MNA - Ahsan Iqbal Chaudhary, MNA - Rana Sana Ullah Khan, MNA - Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, MNA - Rana Tanveer Hussain. MNA - Khurrum Dastagir Khan, MNA - Marriyum Aurangzeb, MNA - Khawaja Saad Rafique, MNA - Mian Javed Latif, MNA - Mian Riaz Hussain Pirzada. MNA - Murtaza Javed Abbasi, MNA - Miftah Ismail - Azam Nazeer Tarar, Senator - Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah, MNA - Syed Naveed Qamar, MNA - Sherry Rehman, Senator - Abdul Qadir Patel, MNA - Shazia Marri, MNA - Syed Murtaza Mahmud, MNA - Sajid Hussain Turi, MNA - Ehsan ur Rehman Mazari, MNA - Abid Hussain Bhayo, MNA - Asad Mahmood, MNA - Abdul Wasay, MNA - Mufti Abdul Shakoor, MNA - Muhammad Talha Mahmood, Senator - Syed Amin-ul-Haque, MNA - Syed Faisal Ali Subzwari, Senator - Muhammad Israr Tareen, MNA - Nawabzada Shazain Bugti, MNA - Chaudhary Tariq Bashir Cheema, MNA

*Ministers of state*

- Dr. Aisha Ghaus Pasha, MNA - Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju, MNA - Hina Rabbani Khar, MNA

*Advisers to the PM*

- Awn Chaudhry - Amir Muqam - Qamar Zaman Kaira

It is pertinent to mention here that the federal cabinet that was scheduled to take oath yesterday was postponed after an excuse from President Arif Alvi.

Last week, Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjarani link administered the oath to the newly-elected prime minister after President Arif Alvi complained of “discomfort”.