Two PML N lawmakers made Federal Ministers


*ISLAMABAD: *Two Senators, Kamran Micheal, and Hafiz Abdul Kareem, on Wednesday took oath as federal ministers at President House.

President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath to the new ministers.

Both Kamran Micheal and Hafiz Abdul Kareem, from ruling party-Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), were elected as senators in elections of the Upper House of Parliament, held on March 3.

Federal ministers, top government officials, and political workers were present at the ceremony.

Hafiz Abdul Kareem was elected as Member of National Assembly (MNA) from Constituency NA-172 of Dera Ghazi Khan in 2013 polls. After the election of Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi in August 2017, he was included in the cabinet of the premier. Later, he was appointed as Federal Minister for Communication for the first time.

Kamran Micheal was elected as the member of Senate in 2012 for the first time on one of ten seats reserved for minorities after killing of Shahbaz Bhatti. After PML-N’s victory in 2013 elections, he was appointed as Minister for Ports and Shipping where he served until June 2016.

In 2017, he was appointed as Federal Minister for Statistics by Prime Minister Abbasi.

More from this category