Former CM Shahbaz Sharif booked under terrorism charges

Former CM Shahbaz Sharif booked under terrorism charges

LAHORE: Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) senior members who took out rallies to welcome Nawaz Sharif, have been charged on account of disturbing the order under the Anti-terrorism Act (ATA).

At Lahori Gate police station cases have been registered against Shahbaz Sharif, Hamza Shahbaz, Javed Hashmi, Uzma Bukhari, Saira Afzal Tarar, Maryam Aurangzeb, Kamran Michel, Colonel(R) Mubashir, Raja Zafar-ul-Haq, Mushahid Hussain Syed and dozens of others. They were charged under ATA-7, attempt to kill, and other clauses involving extreme crimes.

At Nawab Town police station, Saiful Maluk Khokhar, Malik Shafi Khokhar, Malik Afzal Khokhar, Malik Irfan Khokhar and Shehbaz Dogar, along with 500 hundred others were charged with ATA and other felonies. Cases were registered against former premier Shahid Khaqan, Talha Barki and former food minister Khawaja Salman Rafique were registered in Northern Cantt police station.

In Gujrat, cases have been registered in four different police stations, among those only 94 are known while almost 600 are unknown. The cases also included the charges of violating Act-144, in addition to ATA charges.

PML-N members including Nawabzada Tahir, Abid Raza, Mubahsar Husain, Haider Mehdi, Shabir Kotla and Moeen Nawaz have been under arrest.