PML-N Arbab Waseem clinches PK-8 by-polls

PML-N Arbab Waseem clinches PK-8 by-polls

PESHAWAR: Pakistan Tahreek-e-Insaf had to face defeat in its home ground as PML-N candidate Arbab Waseem succeeded to win by-polls of PK-8 constituency.

As per unofficial results, PML-N candidate Arbab Waseem clinched by-polls for the KPK Assembly securing 11,781 votes while Pakistan People Party Malik Tahmash bagged 10,789.

Pakistan Tahreek-e-Insaf could succeed to secure 9,347 votes. PML-N supporters celebrated the victory of their candidate and distributed sweets on this occasion.

The process of polling started at 8 a.m that continued without any break till 5 p.m. Strict security arrangements were made by police on the occasion of by-polls while public holiday was declared by local administration in PK-8 constituency.

Pak Army contingents were also deployed inside and outside of polling stations to maintain law and order situation on the request of Returning Officers.

It is also worthy to mention here that the seat fell vacant with the death of PML-N MPA Arbab Akbar Hayat.