Punjab cabinet: 12 new ministers take oath

Punjab cabinet: 12 new ministers take oath

*LAHORE: Governor Punjab Chaudhry Sarwar administered the oath to 12 ministers of the Punjab Cabinet in a ceremony here on Wednesday.*

The number of new inductions into the cabinet has reached to 12, whereas the total number of ministers in the Punjab cabinet has gone up to 35 as the new members of cabinet sworn in today.

Four advisers and five special assistants have also been included into the cabinet.

Chief Minister Usman Buzdar had approved the appointment of new members of his cabinet, lately.

Syed Saeed-ul-Hasan Shah, Mehar Muhammad Aslam Bharwana, Syed Hussain Jahania Gardezi, Muhammad Ajmal, Muhammad Ikhlaaq, Shaukat Lalika, Zawar Hussain Warraich, Aijaz Masih and others sworn-in as ministers today.

Earlier, a 23-member Punjab cabinet was sworn-in on August 27, which comprised Fayyazul Hassan Chohan as the minister of information and culture, Mian Mehmoodur Rashid as the minister of housing and development, Aleem Khan as the minister of local governments, while Dr Yasmeen Rashid as minister for primary and secondary healthcare and medication.

In addition to these, Makhdoom Hashim Bakht is appointed as finance minister, Raja Rashid Hafeez as revenue minister and Ansar Majeed Niazi as labour and manpower minister

The other ministers and their portfolios for Punjab are as follows: Samiullah Chaudhary as food minister; Hafiz Mumtaz as excise, taxation and narcotics minister, Yasir Humayun Sarfraz as higher education and tourism minister, Mian Aslam Iqbal as industries, commerce and investment minister; Taimoor Khan as youth affairs and sports minister, Raja Basharat as law and parliamentary affairs minister, Mohsin Leghari as education, Murad Ras as school education minister, and Muhammad Akram Chaudhary appointed as adviser to chief minister on political affairs apart of few others whose portfolios are yet to be decided by the provincial government.