CJP forms 5 member bench over Panama case review petitions


ISLAMABAD: The chief justice of Pakistan has formed the five member Panama bench, headed by Justice Asif Saeed Khosa and comprising Justice Gulzar Ahmed, Ejaz Afzal Khan, Sheikh Azmat Saeed, and Ijaz ul Ahsen, to hear the appeals on the request of the Sharif family’s counsel.

Earlier, a three-member bench, headed by Justice Ejaz Afzal Khan, adjourned the matter after a brief hearing when the appellants’ counsel raised objections with regard to the bench hearing the appeals and requested it to constitute a larger bench.The bench, thus, referred the matter to the chief justice to form the same bench that had delivered a damning verdict, removing former prime minister from office.

The larger bench will take up the review pleas tomorrow.

On July 28, the apex court had disqualified Nawaz Sharif for not being honest for concealing his salary from a Dubai-based company and directed the National Accountability Bureau (NAB) to file references against him and his children on the basis of the report of a joint investigation team that probed their off-shore properties.

Sharif had filed a set of review petitions challenging the verdict handed down in the petitions filed by Imran Khan, Sheikh Rashid and Sirajul Haq, requesting the court to review its judgment.

More from this category