Sadiq Sanjrani as Chairman Senate: A new history in making for Pakistan


ISLAMABAD – Sadiq Sanjrani , an independent senator from Balochistan, having the support of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has been elected the Senate chairman on Monday. It was a historic moment when for the first time a Chairman senate has been elected from Balochistan.

He secured 57 votes against Raja Zafarulhq claiming 46 votes.

Later, he was administered the oath.

As many as 103 senators elected through a secret ballot.

The ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and its allies National Party (NP), Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP), PML-Functional and Awami National Party had fielded PML-N’s Raja Zafarul Haq as chairman and PkMAP’s Usman Kakar as deputy chairman.

Hafiz Abdul Karim cast the first vote, while the last vote was cast by Yaqoob Nasir.

More from this category