Residences of 52 former lawmakers in Parliament lodges forces open by Police

Residences of 52 former lawmakers in Parliament lodges forces open by Police

*ISLAMABAD: Fifty-two members of the previous parliament were on Friday forced to vacate their official residence at the Parliament Lodges.*

The authorities on Wednesday vacated several rooms as the next session of the National Assembly is set to be convened on August 13. The former parliamentarians had not vacated even thought the assemblies were dissolved in May.

The list includes several prominent name including Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader and former state minister Talal Chaudhry, and senior member of the Muttahida Quami Movement (MQM) Farooq Sattar.

Other prominent names include Pir Amin-ul-Hasanat, Zafarullah Jamali, Tahir Iqbal, Bilal Virk, Maulana Amir Zaman and Sheikh Aftab Ahmed.

Quami Watan Party (QWP) chief Aftab Sherpao, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) Mehmood Khan Achakzai, Muzammil Qureshi, Khawaja Suhail, Ghulam Rabbani Khar, Sardar Jaffar, Jaffar Iqbal, Abdul Ghafoor Dogar, Raja Matloob Mehdi, Shiza Fatima, Sheikh Salahuddin, Zain Elahi have also not vacated their residences.

Capital Development Authority (CDA) district administration launched a operation to evict the former parliamentarians and vacate the residences. Police, officials of the CDA enforcement wing, and a sub-divisional magistrate were also part of the operation.

They were forced to break down the residences of former members Tahir Iqbal Chaudhry of the PML-N and Syed Kazim Ali Shah of the Pakistan Muslim League-Functional (PML-F).

CDA on Thursday issued a final notice to the occupants of Parliament Lodges to vacate the property within 24 hours by 9AM on Friday.