FBR takes new initiative over restructuring the tax authority

FBR takes new initiative over restructuring the tax authority

ISLAMABAD: Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) Chairman Shabbar Zaidi takes new initiative over restructuring the tax authority, media report has revealed.

Zaidi on Friday constituted three high level consultative committees to make proposals on restructuring the tax authority to make the reforms a more exclusive exercise, reported *Dawn*.

The committees were constituted three days after FBR’s chief commissioners and members of the Inland Revenue Service (IRS) met with the Zaidi demanding withdrawal of proposed measures for revamping the tax authority within two days.

According to the report, the FBR chairman has tasked the committees to submit their recommendations by Nov 18. However, the chairman did not make any such committees for customs group who seems to be happy with government offers of additional 38 BPS-21 posts.

As per the chairman’s order, the Karachi-based consultative committee will be headed by Chief Commissioner Large Taxpayers Unit (LTU) Dr Faiz Illahi Memon with four members including Chief Commissioners Amir Ali Khan Talpur, Dr Aftab Imam, Shahid Iqbal Baloch and Badruddin Ahmad Quraishi, said the report.

The Lahore-based committee will be headed by chief commissioner Syed Nadeem Hussain Rizvi with two members’ chief commissioners Asim Majid Khan and Ahmad Shuja Khan.

The Rawalpindi-Islamabad-based committees will be headed by Director General Intelligence and Investigation Asim Ahmad with three members including chief commissioners — Dr Bashirullah Khan, Dr Shamsul Hadi and Muhammad Naseer Butt.