Pakistan test squad for West Indies series announced    

Pakistan test squad for West Indies series announced    

KARACHI: (APP) Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Saturday announced a 14-member test squad for the first test against West Indies that will start on October 13 in Dubai.

Middle-order batsman Babar Azam and left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz have got the nod from the selectors in Pakistan's Test team for the first time.

The Chief Selector Inzimam-ul-Haq announced the squad at a press conference held at National Stadium Karachi.

Misbahul Haq will lead the squad while senior batsman and highest runs getter in test cricket for Pakistan Younis Khan had already been ruled out due to ailment

Azam's call up came right after he scored three consecutive centuries in the ODI series against West Indies, which Pakistan won 3-0.

Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Hafeez and Shan Masood who were part of the Pakistani team played against England in summer were failed to attract selectors attention.

The Squad comprises: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Imran Khan, Mohammad Amir, Rahat Ali, Sami Aslam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Babar Azam, and Mohammad Nawaz.

Inzimam said that doctors have advised Younis for further ten days rest after which his name will be consider for inclusion in the team.

The Chief Selector expressed the hope that Younis will be recuperated and available be for the second test.

Inzimam said that he favours to pay importance to captain in selecting team and in present circumstance,  we have selected best players.

The three test match series will start from October 13 in Dubai with day and night match. The second test match will be played from October 25 in the same ground while third test will be played  in Sharjah stadium from October 30.