India to build 12 new nuclear Reactors

India to build 12 new nuclear Reactors

NEW DELHI - The government has accorded administrative approval and financial sanction for construction of 12 nuclear power reactors in the country, Parliament was informed on Wednesday.

Out of these, 10 will be indigenous Pressurised Heavy Water Reactors (PHWRs) with a capacity of 700 MW each and the remaining two will be Light Water Reactors (LWRs).

The PHWRs will be set up in fleet mode and the LWRs will be established in cooperation with the Russian Federation, minister of state in Prime Minister’s Office Jitendra Singh said in a written reply in the Lok Sabha.

Two PHWRs each will be set up in Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka and Haryana, while four will be established in Rajasthan, he said, adding that the two LWRs each having a capacity of 1,000 MW will come up at Kudankulam in Tamil Nadu.

The security aspects are being reviewed by the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) before giving clearance for various stages of the projects, the minister said.

Currently seven nuclear power projects are being constructed in the country with a combined capacity of 5300 MW of capacity.

Besides work for the construction of two nuclear reactors with total capacity 1,400 MW at Gorakhpur in Haryana has commenced, he said.