Pakistan Vs West Indies first ODI match update


GUYANA – Pakistan and West Indies will play their first One-Day International (ODI) at the Guyana National Stadium on Friday.

The match starts at 09:30 AM (local) 01:30 PM (GMT) and 06:30 PM on (Pakistan Standard Time).

TV Listings: PTV Sports, Ten Sports

The second and the third ODI matches to be played on Sunday and Tuesday at the same venue before the Test Series begins.

Pakistan have already won the four-match T20 series by beating West Indies by 3-1. After the ODI series, both the cricketing nations will play a three-match Test series starting from April 22. The second and the third Test match will start from April 30 and May 10 respectively.

West Indies have dropped opener Kraigg Brathwaite from their ODI squad who captained the side during their 3-1 T20 defeat, and instead, allow him to link up with IPL franchise Delhi Daredevils this week.

Pakistan are currently No. 8 in the ICC’s ODI rankings, holding the final automatic qualification spot for the 2019 World Cup; West Indies are in ninth, with five ranking points separating the sides.

Failure to beat Pakistan would leave West Indies – who will be absent from this year’s Champions Trophy – struggling to catch them ahead of September’s cut-off and facing the prospect of having to come through the ICC Qualifier.

Pakistan ODI Squad

Ahmad Shehzad, Kamran Akmal, Muhammad Hafeez, Baber Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Asif Zakir, Sarfraz Ahmad – Captain / WK, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Hassan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Muhammad Amir, Fahim Ashraf, Junaid Khan, Muhammad Asghar.

West Indies ODI Squad

Jason Holder (capt), Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Carter, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton